Posts Tagged ‘adventure’

The 100-year-old Man Who Climbed out the Window and Disappeared by Jonas Jonasson

Tuesday, October 15th, 2013

(Find this book in our catalog)  This international bestseller is a fun & funny satire that begins when Allan Karlsson climbs out of the window at the Old Folk’s Home where he lives. He is escaping the 1ooth birthday party planned for him by the home’s director. Still wearing his slippers, he makes his way to the bus station where, by stealing a suitcase, he sets in motion a series of events that will include a number of murders, some new friends, a whole pile of money, an elephant, and a trip to Bali. He will also reveal to his new friends the many episodes of his life, including that he was an explosives expert with a taste for vodka. Author Jonasson, cleverly ties Allan to historic events from his birth in 1905, to his present predicament in 2005. Allan is loveable, his friends are unusual, & the characters he meets are mostly unaware that both he & the author are making fun of them. Brilliant, unique & with a fresh take on history, this is a novel that will interest & amuse anyone.

With over 3 million copies sold worldwide, Swedish author Jonasson has a debut hit. He is a former journalist and had his own production company until he felt the need for a change & decided to write his first novel. As he says of Allan, It’s Never Too Late to Start Over. Jonasson lives in Sweden with his son, a cat & some chickens. His second book, The Illiterate Who Could Count, will be published in 2013.

Click here for article:

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/lifestyle/9386562/Jonas-Jonasson-My-100-year-old-hero-and-the-secret-of-happiness.html

http://jonasjonasson.com/  is the author’s website.

Posted by Julia

The Wolf Gift by Anne Rice

Tuesday, July 31st, 2012

(Find this book in our catalog)  In a departure from her renowned vampire books, Ms. Rice has written a rich, action packed novel that focuses on the creation of werewolves. Her use of language has great depth, drawing out the characters & location with beautiful description. Reuben, a young reporter sent to interview Marchent Nideck at her remote mansion, falls in love with both the house & the woman. The mansion is for sale &, in what is a huge coincidence, Reuben has the means to buy it through private wealth held in trust for him. In a night of terror, however, Marchent is murdered & Reuben is bitten  by a huge wolf creature. From this night on he begins his odyssey to discover who & what he has become.

Ms. Rice makes use of her characters to introduce much philosophical debate on the nature of humans & animals, God & the universe, as they explore their situation. This would certainly create thought provoking discussion in any book group. Fans of Anne Rice should appreciate this latest edition to her pantheon.

The Wolf Gift is vintage Anne Rice—a lushly written, gothic…metaphysical tale. This time, with werewolves.”�
—Alexandra Alter, The Wall Street Journal 

“[Rice] returns to the lushly evocative scenery and gothic atmosphere of her vampire novels with great success. . . her reimagining of a well-worn mythology is fresh and intriguing. Fans of Rice’s The Vampire Chronicles and The Lives of the Mayfair Witches series should delight in this new saga delivered in the author’s distinctive style. Part creation story, part love story, all excellent!” �
—Bette Lee Fox, Library Journal (starred)

http://annerice.com/

Posted by Julia

Librarians’ Choice – Top Men’s Fiction You May Have Missed

Tuesday, December 6th, 2011

For heart-thumping adventure, action, intrigue, and mystery click on any of these titles to go to our catalog and reserve your book for pick up at the library branch of your choice.

  Inside Out: a Novel by Barry Eisler

Summary: “Marooned in a Manila jail after a bar fight fatality, black ops soldier Ben Treven gets a visit from his former commander. The price of Ben’s release: find and eliminate Larison, a rogue operator from Ben’s unit who has stolen torture tapes from the CIA and is using them to blackmail the U.S. government.”

  Die Twice by Andrew Grant

Summary: “Obliged to leave New York City in the aftermath of his previous mission, David Trevellyan is summoned to the British Consulate in Chicago. To the same office where, just a week before, his new handler was attacked and shot by a Royal Navy Intelligence operative gone bad. Assigned the job of finding the rogue agent and putting an end to his treacherous scheme, Trevellyan soon finds that once again, his only hopes of saving countless innocent lives lie not within the system, but in his own instincts and skills. Trust is an illusion trust the wrong person, and it could get you killed. Drawing comparisons to Robert Ludlum, and his own brother, Lee Child, Andrew Grant’s remarkably seasoned voice cuts a new path through the crime thriller genre, continuing to test the limits in this groundbreaking new series.”

  House of Secrets by Richard Hawke

Summary: “Senator Andrew Foster has it all: charm to spare, a loving wife, a beautiful daughter, and a fast-track career that will surely land him one day in the White House. And with the sudden resignation of the vice president, that track may have gotten a lot faster. But there’s a problem. There are people who know that Andy Foster’s charm can get the better of him, and they have bugged the Shelter Island bungalow where he is enjoying a midnight tryst with a beautiful campaign adviser. But all hell breaks loose when a man carrying an iron pipe comes crashing through the bedroom’s sliding glass door. Within seconds, the young woman lies bloodied, dead on the sheets, and Foster has fled in panic. And it’s all on tape. As momentum builds for Foster’s likely selection as the next vice president, the senator’s only hope of keeping his involvement with the murdered woman secret is to locate his blackmailers. But even they don’t have their hands on the devastating images. The man they used for the job has turned the tables and is blackmailing them. All the while, Foster’s personal life is collapsing. His wife, Christine, senses that something is terribly wrong. Unhappy about their daughter’s living in a political fishbowl, Christine is also worried that she and her husband have drifted away from each other. Little does she know that power-hungry politicians and brutal gangsters are ready to rip her family utterly apart. From the rarefied halls of Washington to the briny boardwalks of Brighton Beach, Richard Hawke pulls back the curtain to reveal what is taking place inside the hearts and minds of the powerful people we read about every day in the news. With House of Secrets, Hawke has delivered a pulse-pounding thriller that ignites the fatal mixture of politics, arrogance, and lust.” From the Hardcover edition.

  City of Fear: a Novel by David Hewson

Summary: “When a terrorist group stationed in Rome adopts a symbol from an ancient civilization to justify a violent agenda targeting a G8 conference, Nic Costa of the Questura is called upon to discern the plot and uncovers disturbing links to top government levels.”

  The Killer by Tom Hinshelwood

Summary: “Top assassin Victor accomplishes an assignment, but a waiting hit squad lets him know his client has betrayed him. Hunting that client-with two assassins, the CIA, and Russian Special Forces on his trail-keeps Victor running from London to Moscow to Tanzania.”

RUSA Fantasy Choice – Lamentation by Ken Scholes

Monday, June 21st, 2010
  Lamentation by Ken Scholes (Find this book in our catalog) was named as the most outstanding fantasy book of 2010 by the Reference and User Services Association (RUSA) of the American Library Association.  RUSA honored the book in their annual Reading List, which seeks to highlight outstanding genre fiction that merit special attention by general adult readers and the librarians who work with them.
This is what it says about the book in our catalog:  “An ancient weapon has completely destroyed the city of Windwir.  From many miles away, Rudolfo, Lord of the Nine Forest Houses, sees the horrifying column of smoke rising. He knows that war is coming to the Named Lands.  Nearer to the Devastation, a young apprentice is the only survivor of the city…  Soon all the Kingdoms of the Named Lands will be at each others’ throats, as alliances are challenged and hidden plots are uncovered.  This remarkable first novel from an award-winning short fiction writer will take readers away to a new world – an Earth so far in the distant future that our time is not even a memory; a world where magick is commonplace and great areas of the planet are impassable wastes.  But human nature hasn’t changed through the ages:  War and faith and love still move princes and nations.”
Other books like Lamentation in our catalog:
Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin
Wizard’s First Rule by Terry Goodkind
Acacia. Book One, The War With the Mein by David Anthony Durham